Mount Rushmore National Memorial

Mount Rushmore National Memorial is an unexpectedly moving monument located in the Black Hills of South Dakota. It is one of many scenic spots to to explore when you visit this area.

Mount Rushmore National Memorial Photos

About Mount Rushmore

Mount Rushmore is a granite mountain. And, carved into this mountain are 60-foot (18 m) sculptures of the heads of four United States presidents. The presidents are George Washington (1732–1799), Thomas Jefferson (1743–1826), Theodore Roosevelt (1858–1919), and Abraham Lincoln (1809–1865).

Sculptor, Gutzon Borglum started the monument onOctober 4, 1927. And, Gutzon’s son, Lincoln Borglum, officially completed the monument on October 31, 1941.

Learn more from the National Park Website.

Nearby attractions

The area around Mount Rushmore National Memorial has many attractions, including:

See our photos from some of these locations.

Purchasing photographs

To purchase a license or print of any of these photos, please contact us using the contact form to the right. Learn more about our fine art prints.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.